Cris Derksen 04 credit Tanja Tiziana LR.

Brian Current


A story everyone knows, from the vantage of a woman no one remembers.

Music by Brian Current
Libretto by Marie Clement

Missing tells a story everybody knows, about a woman no one remembers. Set in Vancouver and along the Highway of Tears, this music drama was created to give voice to the story of Canada’s missing and murdered aboriginal women and girls, and to show that each and every one of these missing people is honored.


Durée :


Mouvements :

Two acts

Instrumentation :

fl, cl, 2 perc, electric piano, 7 solo voices, vln, vlc, electronics

Spécifications techniques :


Date de composition:



City Opera Vancouver and Pacific Opera Victoria


Co-produced by Pacific Opera Victoria and City Opera Vancouver, the opera, developed over two and a half years, had its world première in Vancouver and Victoria in November 2017.

The Pacific Opera Victoria toured the opera in BC and SK in 2019.



Missing is an extraordinarily moving and thought-provoking work… a magnificent mélange of singing, acting and music that, one hopes, will be seen by audiences across Canada and the world.
– The Whole Note



Brian Current writes music that is brimming with energy – sometimes with the propulsive rhythms of so-called minimalist music, sometimes with a more delicate sense of flux, but almost always with a sense of motion and playfulness about the treatment of time and texture. These features have won him numerous honours, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Barlow Prize for Orchestral Music, and Italy’s Premio Fedora for his new chamber opera Airline Icarus. His concert-length work for Orchestra, Chorus, and Soloists, The River of Light, is premiering with the Vancouver Bach Choir and Orchestra in May of 2019. Future projects include a vertical opera about Glenn Gould on the wall of Toronto's Telus Centre, a commission for Cambridge's Ora Singers and a commission for the Eckhardt-Gramatté competition.

Brian Current a fait ses études musicales à l'Université McGill et à la University of California (Berkeley), où il a obtenu un doctorat en 2002. Sa musique, louangée et interprétée dans le monde entier, est aussi diffusée dans plus de 35 pays et lui a valu de nombreuses récompenses, notamment une bourse de la Guggenheim Fellowship, le Prix Barlow pour la musique orchestrale (États-Unis), le Prix Premio Fedora for Chamber Opera (Italie), le Concours de commandes de composition Azrieli ainsi qu'une œuvre sélectionnée (catégorie moins de 30 ans) par la Tribune internationale des compositeurs, à Paris.


En savoir plus

À propos de l'œuvre